Community Innovation for Sustainable Energy (CISE)

This 3-year research project studies the diffusion of community energy projects in the UK, and involves researchers in the Sussex Energy Group (SPRU, University of Sussex) and 3S (University of East Anglia).

Recent years have seen a surge in interest and activity in small-scale, sustainable energy projects led by local communities. Examples include solar water heating clubs and insulation clubs, which provide mutual support for system installation; energy awareness and behaviour networks, which provide guidance and reassurance to neighbours on energy matters relevant to them; and co-operatively-owned small-scale renewable energy systems, such as micro-hydro and wind energy.

The project explores the extent of networking between projects, and whether this is assisting in the innovation of community energy. We also assess the performance of projects and provide independent advice to policy-makers and energy businesses about the merits and processes for supporting community energy. We draw upon the findings of our research to develop with practitioners a number of Foresight scenarios for community energy in the UK.

CISE runs from October 2010 to September 2013, and is funded by the UK Engineering and Physical Science Research Council (EPSRC) and the European Centre Laboratories for Energy Efficiency Research (ECLEER) of EdF Energy.

Find out more:

Introducing CISE

Public launch event
Mid-term public event

Dr Adrian Smith
Principal Investigator

SPRU, University of Sussex,
a.g.smith@sussex.ac.uk

Dr Gill Seyfang
Principal Investigator

3S, University of East Anglia,
g.seyfang@uea.ac.uk

Prof Jim Watson
Co-Investigator

SPRU, University of Sussex,
W.J.Watson@sussex.ac.uk

Dr Tom Hargreaves
Senior Research Associate

3S, University of East Anglia
tom.hargreaves@uea.ac.uk

Dr Sabine Hielscher
Senior Research Associate

SPRU, University of Sussex

Dr Jin Park
Senior Research Associate

SPRU, University of Sussex
j.j.park@sussex.ac.uk 

Ms Mari Martiskainen
Linked PhD student

SPRU, University of Sussex
m.martiskainen@sussex.ac.uk

Isabelle Moussaoui
Researcher

Ecleer, Paris
isabelle.moussaoui@edf.fr


Dominique Osso
Researcher

Ecleer, Paris
dominique.osso@edf.fr

Advertisements